Q. How often will I have to log in to the EBSCO Mobile App?
After you log in to the app, you will not be prompted re-select your library and re-enter your login credentials for up to 30 days.
Q. Can I search the EBSCO Mobile App with my voice?
Yes. To enter your search terms with your voice, tap the microphone button on your device's keyboard and speak your search terms when prompted.
Q. What does the Full Text limiter in the EBSCO Mobile App limit results to?
In the EBSCO Mobile App, the Full Text limiter includes anything with full text electronically available from your institution. It is not the Available in Library Collection limiter (EDS) and therefore does not include Catalog or Institutional Repository (IR) results.
Q. Can I install the EBSCO Mobile App on multiple device?
Yes. The EBSCO Mobile App can be installed and authenticated on multiple devices.
Q. If I Like articles in the EBSCO Mobile App, are they also saved to my personal My EBSCOhost folder?
If you are signed in to the app using your personal user account credentials, Liked articles in the EBSCO Mobile App are also saved to your My EBSCOhost folder account.
Note: If you logged in to the EBSCO Mobile App using the Find My Organization option (i.e. not a personal account), your Liked articles are saved to the app for as long as you are logged in. If your login expires or you log out of the app, your Liked items are removed.
Q. Which databases are being searched when I run a keyword search on the EBSCO Mobile App?
When you run a search on the app, it is searching all databases that are included in the profile associated with the app in EBSCOadmin.
Administrators can configure which existing profile to use, or set up a new profile with specific databases and associate it with the app using EBSCOadmin. See: How do I select a default profile for use with Find My Organization?
Future versions of the app will include the ability for users to view and select specific databases to search within the app.
Q. How can I tell which institution I am accessing when using the EBSCO Mobile App?
When logged into the app, the institution through which you are accessing is displayed at the top of the screen. In addition, if you logged in with a personal user account, your greeting is personalized.
Q: Does the EBSCO Mobile App support Text-to-Speech (TTS) for full-text?
Currently, Text-to-Speech (TTS) is enabled in the EBSCO Mobile App for PDF full-text articles.
Text-to-Speech functionality for EBSCO eBooks (DRM-protected and DRM-free) is not yet enabled in the app but is planned as a future enhancement.
Users may wish to consider VoiceOver (for iOS) or TalkBack (for Android) screen readers which are supported by the EBSCO Mobile App (including the app’s eBook viewer). These tool can be accessed in your device’s Accessibility settings.
Q. How can I change the language of the EBSCO Mobile App?
You can change the language of the EBSCO Mobile app by modifying the display language for your device. See below for instructions on how to change the language for your device.
Apple Devices
Android Devices
For Android devices, please consult support resources for your particular device. See the following Google support page for links to support from different Android device makers: