Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Zululand Library Guides
What are Electronic reference materials?
Electronic references are reference sources of information that has been sourced and stored in digital formats. These sources include sources of quick factual information found on publications like dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, atlases, etc. Reference sources can be used to generate topic ideas, become more informed or obtain background information on a specific topic.
UNIZULU's Electronic reference sources
Britannica Academic provides up-to-date and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information and is a gateway for further research for colleges, academic libraries and institutions. This include sources like dictionary, articles, primary sources and journals.
Literary Reference Centre
Literary Reference Centre is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time frames. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, covering different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Search results may extend from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Sabinet Reference a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products, including but not limited to the following databases; SA Citations, SA Cat Plus, SA News, Theses & Dissertations, Theses & Dissertations, Journal Articles, First Search, Open Access Content, African Studies Collection
Gale Reference Complete
Gale Reference Complete offers high quality, authoritative and unique content access to the largest package of primary and secondary sources available to libraries today. Including Academic OnFile, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Archives Unbound, Contemporary Authors and more.