LibGuides: Introduction to Law: Reference Sources

What is a reference source

Reference materials are various sources (e.g. dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, handbooks, indexes, etc.) that provide background information or quick facts on any given topic.

Reference sources can be general or specialized (available in print and/or electronic formats) and cannot be checked out of the library.

For Legal References we have some of the following:

Online Reference Sources

Britannica Academic

Fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The combination of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals.
Gale Reference Complete

Gale Reference Complete is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database with an authoritative content available across all disciplines and has key primary and secondary sources like journals, ebooks, references and newspapers etc.
Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference provides access to Oxford University Press' dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias

Open Access Reference Sources

UNIZULU Legal Reference Sources

UniZulu Reference Sources are kept in the Law Section and are used as reference sources that means you cannot take them out of the library. We have amongst many the following:

- A dictionary of law

- The Britannica Yearbook of International Law

- The Canadian Yearbook of International Law commission.

- Yearbook United Nations

- Constitutional Law of South Africa

- Code of International Labor Law

- Encyclopedia Discrimination and Violence

- Encyclopedia Health and Safety at Work

- South African Criminal Law \nd Procedure

- Guide of Companies Act

- Law Books and Serials in Print

- Oxford Dictionary Law

- Words and Phrases legally destined