LibGuides: Arts and Languages Education : Electronic resources

How to access electronic resources

The Library subscribes to over 126 electronic databases such as ScienceDirect, JSTOR, Emerald, etc. They include:

E-journals (full text & bibliographic)
E-books and other material

Access to e-Resources

To access UNIZULU Library’s electronic resources – whether on campus or off campus users have to sign in using Open Athens, which requires using the same credentials for signing in to your UNIZULU email, WiFi, or Lab Access. On-campus students/staff can activate their accounts at the UNIZULU computer labs ICT help desks and off-campus students/staff should send an email to labs@unizulu.ac.za with a request to reset their accounts.

After activating your account, please use the following steps:

1. Go to the UNIZULU website www.unizulu.ac.za and click 'Library'

2. Click the 'Off-campus' link

3. On the page 'Off-Campus Access', Click on 'Please click here

4. Now you have to sign in to OpenAthens (select 'UNIZULU students’ or UNIZULU staff)

5. Enter user ID (institutional email) and password as if it is for checking your email (e.g. nenef - user ID and enter your password in the relevant box) and click 'continue'.

This will take you to the list of the databases which you can search individually or

use Ebsco Discovery Service, which allows search through all UNIZULU subscribed databases (same as Google).

………………………………………………

For training on how to use e-Resources consult:

Ms. Fikile Gina on 035 9026469

Email: ginaf@unizulu.ac.za

Recommended Databases

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier’s abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers nearly 36,377 titles (22,794 active titles and 13,583 inactive titles) from approximately 11,678 publishers, of which 34,346 are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences and health sciences. It covers three types of sources: book series, journals, and trade journals. All journals covered in the Scopus database are reviewed for sufficiently high quality each year according to four types of numerical quality measure for each title; those are h-Index, CiteScore, SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) and SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper).Searches in Scopus also incorporate searches of patent databases.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 2,600 journals and over 5,000 new books each year, with a books backlist in excess of 120,000 specialist titles. We are providers of quality information and knowledge that enable our customers to perform their jobs efficiently, enhance their education, and help contribute to the advancement of their chosen market sectors.
World Heritage Sites (ALUKA) This link opens in a new window
World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The materials in World Heritage Sites: Africa serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning. The collection is also a tool for museums, libraries, NGOs, and government organizations that manage or oversee cultural heritage sites, as well as for experts and professionals engaged in the conservation and management of such sites. Explore the archaeology, history and culture of Africa through its heritage sites and landscapes.

We also have Multidisciplinary databases that you can use like EbscoHost,

Please Check the A-Z list: http://library.unizulu.ac.za/electronic-resources/