LibGuides: Anthropology and Development Studies: Reference Sources

What are Electronic Reference Materials?

Generating topic ideas: When unsure of a research topic, reference sources can inspire new ideas or narrow your focus.
Becoming informed: Reference materials provide an overview of unfamiliar subjects, helping you grasp key concepts quickly.
Background research: They serve as a foundation for more in-depth study, offering reliable, summarized information on specific topics.

1. Dictionaries:

Merriam-Webster Online: Offers definitions, word origins, and pronunciation guides.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED): Comprehensive definitions and historical usage of words
Encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia Britannica Online: Provides authoritative summaries on various topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Offers subject-specific encyclopedias in history, science, and literature.2. Bibliographies:
WorldCat: A global catalog of library collections for finding books, articles, and bibliographic information.
Zotero: Helps manage references, create bibliographies, and organize research materials.
3. Atlases:
National Geographic Online Atlas: Offers interactive maps and geographic information.
Google Earth: A virtual globe and map tool providing satellite imagery and geographic data.

Britannica Academic Britannica Academic provides up-to-date and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information and is a gateway for further research for colleges, academic libraries and institutions. This include sources like dictionary, articles, primary sources and journals.
Gale Reference Complete Gale Reference Complete offers high quality, authoritative and unique content access to the largest package of primary and secondary sources available to libraries today. Including Academic OnFile, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Archives Unbound, Contemporary Authors and more.
Oxford Reference Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, covering different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Search results may extend from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.

Here’s how to access them:

Step 1: Visit your library’s website
Step 2: Look for the Databases or eResources section.
Step 3: Browse or search for the resource you need (e.g., Oxford English Dictionary, Britannica Online).
Step 4: You may need to log in using your library credentials (e.g., student ID or library card number).

Examples:

Britannica Online: Available through most academic libraries.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Often accessible through library A-Z databases.

Some reference sources are available directly from publisher websites

Step 1: Go to the publisher’s website (e.g., Merriam-Webster Online or National Geographic Online Atlas).
Step 2: Search for the desired resource or reference.
Step 3: Some may offer limited free access, while others require a subscription or account.

Examples:

Merriam-Webster Online: Free to access for word definitions and more.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED): Available via subscription, but some libraries provide free access.

. These can be accessed directly from your browser:

Google Scholar: For scholarly articles and citations.
Thesaurus.com: A free thesaurus for finding synonyms and antonyms.
Wikipedia: While user-generated, it often links to credible sources and references for background information.

If you’re accessing specialized databases, you might need access through a university or institutional subscription. Here’s how:

Step 1: Visit your institution’s library website.
Step 2: Go to the Databases section and choose a database like JSTOR, ProQuest, or SAGE Research Methods.
Step 3: Log in with your institution’s credentials (student/staff login).

Examples:

For managing your references and creating bibliographies, you can access tools like EndNote, Zotero, or Mendeley:

Many electronic reference materials are also accessible via mobile apps: