Creative Arts: Subject Databases

Here's what an A-Z list of databases typically includes:

1. Database Name: The name of the database, often with a brief description or link to access it.
2. Alphabetical Order: Databases are listed in alphabetical order to make it easier to find a specific database.
3. Access Information: Details on how to access the database, which might include login information or direct links.

Purpose:

• Convenience: Provides a quick reference to a wide range of databases.
• Organization: Helps users navigate large collections of databases systematically.
• Accessibility: Ensures users can easily find and use the resources they need for research or study.

In order to access UNIZULU Library’s databases– whether on campus or off campus users have to sign-in using Open Athens which requires to use the same credentials for signing in to your UNIZULU email, WiFi, or Lab Access. On campus students/staff can activate their accounts at the UNIZULU computer labs ICT help desks and off-campus students/staff should send email to labs@unizulu.ac.za with request to reset their accounts.

. Start with a Clear Research Question

• Define your topic: Before searching, have a clear idea of what you’re looking for. This will help in using the right keywords and search strategies.

2. Use Keywords Effectively

• Select appropriate keywords: Think about synonyms and related terms. Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to refine your search.
• Use advanced search options: Most databases offer advanced search features to narrow down results by date, author, or publication type.

3. Utilize Filters and Limiters

• Filter by date, document type, or subject: Narrow down results to the most relevant and recent publications.
• Limit to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles: Ensures the credibility and quality of the sources.

4. Explore Database Features

• Alerts and saved searches: Set up alerts for new publications on your topic. Save searches for easy access later.
• Citation tools: Use built-in citation tools to generate citations in various styles like APA, MLA, or Chicago.

5. Evaluate Sources

• Assess credibility: Check the author’s credentials, the publication’s reputation, and the relevance of the content.
• Cross-reference information: Verify details across multiple sources to ensure accuracy.

6. Use Full-Text Access

• Get full-text articles: Use the database’s full-text access or find links to get the complete article if only an abstract is available.

7. Export and Organize References

• Export citations: Export references to citation management tools like EndNote, Zotero, or Mendeley for easy organization.
• Keep track: Organize your findings and notes systematically to streamline your research process.

8. Consult Help Resources

• Use help guides: Many databases offer tutorials and help guides. Utilize these resources for tips and troubleshooting.
• Seek librarian assistance: Don’t hesitate to ask librarians for help with database searches and research strategies.

9. Stay Updated

• Regularly check for updates: Keep up with new features and resources in your databases to maximize their utility.

.