LibGuides: English Language and Literature: Reference Sources

What are Electronic reference materials?

Electronic references are reference sources of information that has been sourced and stored in digital formats. These sources include sources of quick factual information found on publications like dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, atlases, etc. Reference sources can be used to generate topic ideas, become more informed or obtain background information on a specific topic.

UNIZULU's Electronic reference sources

Britannica Academic Britannica Academic provides up-to-date and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information and is a gateway for further research for colleges, academic libraries and institutions. This include sources like dictionary, articles, primary sources and journals.
Gale Reference Complete Gale Reference Complete offers high quality, authoritative and unique content access to the largest package of primary and secondary sources available to libraries today. Including Academic OnFile, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Archives Unbound, Contemporary Authors and more.
Oxford Reference Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, covering different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Search results may extend from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.

Find Print Reference Sources

Inside the library the E-catalog is always displayed on the dedicated catalog terminals. From out side the campus users will need to connect to the internet and follow the steps below:

Log on to the UniZulu library website and Click

Follow the quick Link to the library catalogue : http://esal.unizulu.ac.za by searching for call no. (e.g. R 428 PAI) and select the relevant reference titles

Print Reference Sources (English Language and Literature}

Collins concise school dictionary by John McIlwain R 423.03 MCI
ISBN: 9780007203888
The good English guide : English usage in the 1990s by Howard, Godfrey R 428.003 GOO
ISBN: 0333628950
International Handbook of English Language Teaching by Jim Cummins (Editor); Chris Davison (Editor) R 428.0071 INT T- 1& 2
ISBN: 0387463003
Publication Date: 2007-06-26
Oxford successful English : learner's book : grade 12, with exam info and practice by Oxford University Press Southern Africa, R 428 PAI
ISBN: 9780195764611
Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms by Marvin Terban; Scholastic, Inc. Staff (Contribution by) R 423.1 TER
ISBN: 9780439770835
Publication Date: 2006-07-01