Primo Research Assistant is a generative AI-powered tool designed to streamline time-intensive tasks. It enables users to query academic content in natural language and utilizes the breadth of your library to pinpoint five articles that can aid in answering your question. The tool distills the most pertinent information from the descriptions/abstracts of each article to craft the response's overview that includes in-line references to the sources to provide transparency in how each source contributed to the response. Beneath the overview, these sources and additional sources are available for further exploration of the subject and for verifying the tool's responses.
Disclaimer
Due to contractual and licensing agreements, access to some content may be restricted to the UNIZULU community. Contents of this LibGuide do not imply University or Library endorsement of the ideas expressed.
Librarian: Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering
Open access refers to the practice of making peer-reviewed scholarly research and literature freely available online to anyone interested in reading it. It is simply making research available for others to read without having to pay for it.
EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that the library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription. eBooks are available via subscription are renewed annually for the library to retain access. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines
Browse our vast collection of eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science, which are led by a global network of editors and authors.
Providing researchers with access to millions of books from multi-disciplinary fields. New books are available everyday.
Computer Science Databases
How to access electronic databases?
Accessto e-Resources
In order to access UNIZULU Library’s electronic resources – whether on campus or off campus users have to sign-in using Open Athens which requires using the same credentials for signing in to your UNIZULU email, WiFi, or Lab Access. On campus students/staff can activate their accounts at the UNIZULU computer labs ICT help desks and off-campus students/staff should send email to labs@unizulu.ac.za with request to reset their accounts.
Here is a list of databases relevant to this department. To explore additional resources, please click on the A–Z Databases list:
The UNIZULU IR is a collection of all University of Zululand theses and dissertations available electronically through the internet at http//uzspace.uzulu.ac.za or via the Library Catalogue. Other scholarly publications of the university researchers will also be made available in due course. The Institutional Repository (IR) has been established to manage, preserve and maintain the research output of the University of Zululand. It enables the university to provide access to its research and avail it electronically to the greater research community locally and globally.
How to search IR:
Go to the link and you will be taken to the IR page.
- Search UZSpace
Browse by :
- Communities & Collections
- Issue Date
- Author
- Titles
- Subjects
Click on the title, you will view Abstract and Description
To view the article, click on View/Open under Files in this item.
The Union Catalogue for Thesis and Dissertations (UCTD) contains bibliographic records of theses and dissertations at master and doctorate level submitted to universities in South Africa. Honorary doctorates are also included. Coverage: 1918-present..
This is the list of known repositories within the African continent has been compiled by the International African Institute as a service to African studies research and scholarship in line with our remit to promote the dissemination of knowledge from and on Africa.
This database provides information on approximately 150 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations. This source now provides information on all fields of science since 1919. The records of the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) formerly maintained by the Potchefstroom University for CHE are now included. The NAVTECH research projects are included in the database. It also includes abstracts and English titles are given for projects not in English.
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is a collaborative effort of universities around the world to promote creating, archiving, distributing and accessing Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).
This portal provides access to the full-text of South African theses and dissertations
UNIZULU Reference Sources
What Are Reference Sources?
Reference materials are various sources (e.g. dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, handbooks, indexes, etc.) that provide background information or quick facts on any given topic.
Reference sources can be general or specialized (available in print and/or electronic formats) and cannot be checked out of the library.
Gale connects libraries to learning and learners to libraries
For more than 60 years, Gale, a Cengage Company has partnered with libraries around the world to empower the discovery of knowledge and insights by all people, for all purposes. Knowledge is power, and the act of learning is empowering. Access to knowledge offers learners an opportunity to discover the motivation and inspiration vital to making a positive contribution in not only their own lives, but the rest of the world. That’s why Gale provides libraries with original and curated content, as well as the modern research tools that are crucial in connecting libraries to learning, and learners to libraries.
Fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The combination of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals.
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.
An overview of AccessScience
• MORE THAN 8700 ARTICLES covering all major scientific disciplines are continuously reviewed and updated
• 115,000-PLUS DEFINITIONS from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms are built into search results
• HUNDREDS OF BRIEFINGS about relevant concepts in science and technology provide a great starting place for research topic ideas
• 3000 BIOGRAPHIES cover well-known scientific figures
• 19,000-PLUS IMAGES AND ANIMATIONS illustrate key concepts in engaging and meaningful ways
• VIDEO BIOGRAPHIES highlight the life and work of award-winning scientists
• PERSISTENT LINKS TO CITABLE LITERATURE support research assignments through primary sources of information
• INTERACTIVE CITATION GENERATOR saves time and effort when preparing papers
• CURRICULUM MAPS tied to core content can enrich faculty lesson plans
• OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS allows easy, anytime access outside of institutional IP ranges
Blackie's Dictionary of Computer Science
by
Blackie & Son,
Call Number: REF 004.03 BLAC
ISBN: 9788121941532
Publication Date: 2009-04-15
Dictionary of Information Technology
by
Tony Gunton
Call Number: R 004.03 GUN
ISBN: 1855540584
Referencing
What are Reference Management Tools?
Reference management tools allow you to store and manage the references that you gather in the course of your research. All 3 of the reference management tools (which UNIZULU uses) mentioned on this page share the following common features:
Add references manually, or by importing a PDF or a reference from a database
Organize your references into groups or folders
Share your references with other people
Create a reference list in a chosen referencing style
Insert in-text references while writing in Microsoft Word in a chosen referencing style (Write and Cite)
For training on how to use these reference management tools contact: Mlungisi Thusi
Zotero
Zotero collects, manages and allows you to cite references. In other words, Zotero will help you get organised, save time and collaborate your work.. You can also attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.
Below is a 12 minute video link on how to use Zotero:
EndNote 20
EndNote is a reference management tool that helps to organize all your references in one database, called EndNote library. It allows you to enter manually or download from the databases, Google Scholar, etc. your references to books, journal articles, theses & dissertations, websites and other information resources. This will assist you to insert citations and references from your EndNote library into your thesis/dissertation or your project and automatically build a bibliography according to the selected reference style (e.g. APA, Harvard, etc.) in Microsoft Word.
For you to access EndNote use the UNIZULU elearning portal on the link below:
Mendeley is a free reference management software package, also known as bibliographic software, which enables you to:
Create a personal database of references relevant to you, along with associated files, to easily manage your research;
De-duplicate references retrieved from multiple sources;
Insert references into a Word document and format them automatically in a citation style of your choice;
Showcase your work and connect and collaborate with researchers worldwide.
This video from Mendeley is a good introduction to using the software bellow:
Plagiarism
What is Plagiarism?
Plagiarism constitutes a breach of academic integrity and compromises and undermines the values and processes by which knowledge is created, shared and evaluated. Such breach not only cast suspicion upon the integrity of the individuals involved, but also damage the reputation of the academic community.
This Policy and Procedures on Managing and Preventing Acts of Plagiarism (“the Policy”) articulates the University’s resolve to promote academic integrity and to take a firm position against all acts of plagiarism. Its purpose is to establish consistent guidelines and procedures on how plagiarism at UNIZULU can be monitored and prevented at undergraduate, postgraduate and research levels in order to enhance academic integrity and ethical behavior from the onset of a student’s and a researcher’s academic career.
See above link on the Plagiarism Policy document in PDF.
Teaching & Learning Support
Library Teaching and Learning Support
Faculty Support Library Team, Mlungisi Thusi and Thando Mngadi are responsible for offering the following workshops:
Undergraduate Students' Topics:
Information Literacy Skills
Library orientation
How to identify credible academic sources
Introduction to types of sources (books, journals, articles, etc.)
Understanding plagiarism and basic referencing
Using the Library Catalogue and Databases
Accessing databases like ScienceDirect, IEEE, Access Science, Jove etc
E-book platforms such as Perlego and ProQuest E-book Central
Referencing and Citation Tools
Introduction to referencing styles (APA, Harvard, IEEE etc.)
Using Zotero or Mendeley to manage references
Avoiding plagiarism
Postgraduate Students' Topics:
Literature Review Techniques
How to read journal articles
How to use a literature matrix to identify patterns, gaps, and connections within a body of literature
How to use the AI Library tool to find credible and peer-reviewed sources
Academic Staff Topics:
How to purchase books
How to request library materials from other institutions
Turnitin
To book an appointment with the Faculty Support Library staff, click here:
Ask-A-Librarian Service
Ask a Librarian service You can chat with a librarian directly from your smart devices and one of our librarians will answer your queries:
Click on “Library” In the box on the bottom right hand corner of your screen click on the up arrow
Enter your email, your query, retype the code (to prove that you are not a robot) and click ‘Send’ One of the Librarians will get back to you as soon as possible.
This chat option is also available when you are using Library Libchat: Available at Ask-A-Librarian
UNIZULU Library Workshops
Know your library: an overview of Library Services/Resources/Facilities
Stay Away From Plagiarism: what you need to know to avoid it
Turnitin: plagiarism checker and grammar mistakes software
e-Books
e-Resources, tips for searching and more
Referencing made easy: EndNote
Press-Reader
Library Orientation
Library Orientation is an introductory program designed for new library users of University of Zululand (1st year students and new staff members). It gives the new library users an opportunity to know their library and the services, facilities, resources, etc.
It is a one hour session and is conducted at the beginning of each year for first year students (and throughout the year on request).
MAKE SURE YOU ATTEND COMPULSORY LIBRARY ORIENTATION: All first year students must attend before they use UNIZULU library
Copyright
What is Copyright?
Copyright controls how you use creative works made by other people. It gives exclusive rights to the original creator to receive payment in the form of royalties for all reproductions and use of the work. Copyright is a branch of Intellectual Property.
What is DALRO?
DALRODramatic, Artistic and Literary Rights Organization, is a multi-purpose copyright organization.
Did you know that you need a license to reproduce a piece of copyright-protected content? DALRO can help you or your business to obtain individual or blanket licenses for a range of content, including plays, musicals, visual arts, poems, newspaper articles, books and more. Click here to Get Permission
If you are a creator or publisher, DALRO is here to assist you in managing your asset (the copyright in your work) and ensuring it is available for licensing while you do what you do best… create! Theater, literature, visual arts or film – we can protect your work Click here to Get Royalties
Want to find out more? Get Informed about copyright and the rules.
Research Support
Research Support Librarians
UNIZULU Library Research Support Services
Research Consultations
One-on-one or group sessions with subject librarians for research strategy development, source identification, and guidance on using scholarly databases.
Access to Scholarly Databases and Journals
Comprehensive access to local and international peer-reviewed journals, eBooks, and specialized databases via the A–Z Database List.
Literature Search Assistance
Expert support with conducting literature reviews.
Reference Management Tools
Training and support on tools like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote for organizing citations and creating bibliographies.
Plagiarism Prevention & Turnitin Support
Assistance with using plagiarism detection tools and understanding ethical research practices.
Open Access (OA) Publishing Support
Information on OA publishing platforms, benefits of OA, and guidance on the UNIZULU Open Access Policy and institutional repository.
Accredited Journal Identification
Support in identifying Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET)-accredited and high-impact journals for publishing.
Bibliometrics and Citation Analysis
Help with using Google Scholar, Scopus, or Web of Science for citation tracking, H-index calculations, and research impact assessment.
09.Institutional Repository Support
Assistance with depositing theses, dissertations, and articles in UNIZULU’s digital repository to increase visibility and accessibility.
Collaboration and Networking Guidance
Support in identifying research collaborators, using ORCID iDs, and creating researcher profiles on platforms like, Google Scholar, ResearchGate
Turnitin
Tips on How to Use Turnitin
What is Turnitin?
Turnitin is web based software, which promotes academic integrity, streamlines grading and feedback, deters plagiarism, and improves students’ outcomes.
Student Resources Hub:The Student Resources Hub gathers some of the most useful content available to students using Turnitin.
What is Originality or (Similarity) Report?
The Originality Report indicates the amount of matched text (e.g. phrases or sentences) that Turnitin has found in student’s assignment. It also indicates the sources of any matched text found. The Originality Report is a useful tool to check that students cited their sources in the assignment and have not copied text without proper referencing.
These are electronic versions of traditional newspapers and magazines. They follow the same sequence of publication intervals as printed copies. The University of Zululand provides access to few databases where users can search and access both local and international newspapers and magazines. These databases can be access on the link under e-resources menu on the library web-page, or directly on the A_Z database list.
PressReader is a platform that provides electronic versions of over 7,000 newspapers and magazines in more than 60 languages worldwide, through its applications for iOS, Android, Windows, Mac and various e-readers as well as its website, and operates digital editions of newspapers and magazines for publishers
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
The Newswire is a full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press. When a link to a news story is clicked, you are brought to the Detailed Record and HTML Full Text of the story.
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Researchers and policy-makers need access to contextually-relevant quality research publications from Africa in order to develop solutions to address the continent’s challenges in health, education, climate change & under-development.
Probability and Statistics for Computer Science
by
Library automation in computer science
by
Logic for Computer Science
by
Blackie's Dictionary of Computer Science
by
Dictionary of Information Technology
by
