Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JSTOR: Browse JSTOR Database

How to search Jstor database

Access JSTOR contents

 JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.

Browse by Subjects

STOR featured subjects focus on emerging areas of research and feature multiple types of content such as journals and research reports, encompassing perspectives from around the world.

A quick way to find featured subjects is from the Browse by Subject menu on jstor.org, and look for the Featured Subjects heading.

Searching a featured subject on JSTOR works slightly differently than searching the archive collection. A featured subject, such as our Sustainability or Security Studies collections, can be keyword searched and refined, but you cannot use the advanced search on a featured subject. Advanced search will always search the entirety of JSTOR.

From a featured subject landing page, the keyword search box will have text above it indicating which featured subject you are searching.

Just like searching the archive collection, you can use Boolean operators, parenthesis, directed field searches, and wildcards in the keyword search box.

You can also refine your search results using the filters, which will list the number of items found in each of the Content Type and Subjects.

Browse by Title

How to find a specific journal title

If you want to look for a specific journal, book, or research report, there's an easy way to find exactly what you need on the Browse page.

  1. At the top of any JSTOR page, you'll see the "browse" menu in the upper left hand corner.
  2. Go to Browse> By Title.
  3. This will take you to a table that lists everything we have alphabetically.
  4. On this table there are three tabs: JournalsBooks, and Research Reports. Choose the tab for the type of source you want. 

How to search within a specific journal or book:

If you're looking for a specific search term within a specific journal or book, use the Advanced Search:

  1. Go to the Advanced Search
  2. Make sure you enter at least one search term or "Keyword" in the top fields
  3. Scroll down below the "Narrow Results" text
  4. Enter the book or journal title in the "Journal or Book Title" field or, for books, you can enter the ISBN in the ISBN field

Browse by Collections

Jstor Collections covers mportant and rare collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world. Provides access to different mediums of information including rtworks, photographs, publications, recordings, and other artifacts. 

f you want to look for a specific journal, book, or research report, there's an easy way to find exactly what you need on the Browse page.

  1. At the top of any JSTOR page, you'll see the "browse" menu in the upper left hand corner.
  2. Go to Browse> by Collections
  3. This will take you to lists all content types in available in Jstor Collections
University of Zululand Library Guides