LibGuides: Research Support: Start your research

A literature review is an important part of any research project, as it sets your research in context and identifies how it fits with the research that has been done before. You may be asked to write a literature review as part of a dissertation, thesis, or longer project, or as a separate assignment to develop the research, synthesis and analytical skills involved.

A key feature of any literature review is how you choose to group the literature into sub-sections or themes to enable comparison. This shows how you are conceptualizing the topic. The structure you create helps you (and your readers) navigate and understand the literature. In a longer project, it is normal to refer to the concepts in the literature review to help analyze your own results and provide potential reasons to explain what you have found. So, it is important to set up these concepts clearly, and to explore and evaluate them in literature review.

One common way to approach a literature review is to start out broad and then become more specific. Think of it as an inverted triangle:

A diagram of a research

AI-generated content may be incorrect.

First briefly explain the broad issues related to your investigation; you don't need to write much about this, just demonstrate that you are aware of the breadth of your subject.
Then narrow your focus to deal with the studies that overlap with your research.
Finally, hone in on any research that is directly related to your specific investigation. Proportionally you spend most time discussing those studies that have most direct relevance to your research.

The CRAAP test provides simple criteria for judging the academic quality of information. By asking some questions of the sources you encounter, you can successfully boost the quality of information you use in your work.

The five main CRAAP test criteria are:

Currency
Relevancy
Accuracy
Authority
Purpose

UNIZULU MOU Agreement

New Research Books

Handbook of Qualitative Cross-Cultural Research Methods by Pranee Liamputtong (Editor)
ISBN: 9781800376618

Publication Date: 2022-12-13

This Handbook provides an in-depth discussion on doing cross-cultural research more ethically, sensibly and responsibly with diverse groups of people around the globe. It focuses on cross-cultural research in the social sciences where researchers who are often from Western, educated and rich backgrounds are conducting research with individuals from different socio-cultural settings that are often non-Western, illiterate and poor.Covering both theoretical perspectives as well as practical ways to conduct research in cross-cultural settings, the contributors explore research work across Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe and North America
Research Techniques by Habeeb Adewale Ajimotokan
ISBN: 9783031131080

Publication Date: 2022-09-20

This book provides a hands-on guide towards conducting state-of-the-art engineering research and gaining a patent. It lists pragmatic, step-by-step instructions that cover every stage in engineering research and patent gaining, from choosing a topic to the presentation of research outcomes or patent application. The topics include the introduction and basic concepts of engineering research; research problem and questions; use of libraries, literature search and review; developing a research plan; research data collection methods, analysis and interpretation; project report writing and presentations; and inventions and patents
Mixed Methods Research by Donna M. Mertens; Jessica Nina Lester (Series edited by); Mark Elliot (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9781350270985

Publication Date: 2023-04-20

In this book, Mertens provides a brief history of the emergence of mixed methods research and numerous examples to illustrate its application in different disciplines and geographic areas. Mixed methods approaches offer researchers an exciting opportunity to explore new combinations of methods in diverse contexts: the design possibilities are endless and can be incorporated in many different approaches. The book presents case studies to illustrate different philosophical lenses for mixed methods design, including post-positivism, constructivism, pragmatism, transformative, Indigenous, and dialectical pluralism. The book features interviews with researchers about their experiences and practices. discuss a variety of topics including innovative research design etc.

Preparing and writing a proposal

Open Access Books for Download

Pragmatism and methodology: doing research that matters with mixed methods
Taking a pragmatist approach to methods and methodology that fosters meaningful, impactful, and ethical research, this book rises to the challenge of today’s data revolution. It shows how pragmatism can turn challenges, such as the abundance and accumulation of big qualitative data, into opportunities.

E-Books Collection

EBSCO eBooks
EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that the library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription. eBooks are available via subscription are renewed annually for the library to retain access. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines.

Science Direct E-Books
Search for e-book chapters and open access content.
ProQuest Research e-Books Central
Start your Research with Reliable Sources.
Trusted Content. Less Stress. Better Results.
SpringerNature Books
Providing researchers with access to millions of books from multi-disciplinary fields. New books are available everyday.

Books/Resources Recommendation Form

Books/Resources Recommendation Form