Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Department of Physics: Department of Physics Databases

A complete guide to the UNIZULU Physics Resources

How to access electronic databases?

The Library subscribes to over 104 electronic databases such as ScienceDirect, JSTOR, Emerald, etc. They include:

  • E-journals (full text & bibliographic)
  • E-books and other material

Access to e-Resources

In order to access UNIZULU Library’s electronic resources – whether on campus or off campus users have to sign-in using Open Athens which requires to use the same credentials for signing in to your UNIZULU email, WiFi, or Lab Access. On campus students/staff can activate their accounts at the UNIZULU computer labs ICT help desks and off-campus students/staff should send email to labs@unizulu.ac.za with request to reset their accounts.

After activating your account, please use the following steps:

1. Go to UNIZULU website www.unizulu.ac.za and click 'Library'

2. Click 'Off-campus' link

3. On the page 'Off-Campus Access', Click on 'Please click here'

4. Now you have to sign in to OpenAthens (select  'UNIZULU students’ or UNIZULU staff)

5. Enter user ID (institutional email) and password as if it is for checking your email (e.g.  nenef - user   ID and enter your password in the relevant box) click 'continue'.

This will take you to the list of the databases which you can search individually or

use Ebsco Discovery Service which allows to search through all UNIZULU subscribed databases (same as Google).

 

For training on how to use e-Resources consult your relevant Information Librarian.

What are Databases?

A database is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval.

Databases provide various formats of information. Different databases provide different kinds of information.

Bibliographic databases provide a descriptive record of an item, but the item itself is not provided in the database. Information about the item is provided, including such things as author, title, subject, publisher, etc. The information provided is called a citation. Sometimes a short summary or abstract of the item is provided as well. Examples of bibliographic databases include LISA and Social Sciences Abstracts.

A full-text database provides the full-text of a publication. For instance, SA e-Publications provides not only the citation to a journal article, but the entire text of the article as well.

The library subscribes to a number of databases (E-Journals which are full text and other only have bibliographic information and also subscribes to E-Books).

We are using Open Anthens and this means for our E-Resources one has to login whether on or off campus. 

For Training on how to use e-Resources consult your Faculty Librarian Sizwe Mabena: MabenaS@unizulu.ac.za.

What are e-Resources?

The term is used to describe all the information products that a library provides through a computer network. This includes:

•electronic books
•e-journals
•theses & dissertations
•online databases (full text & bibliographic)
•e-Books
•Institutional Repository (IR)
•e-Newspapers
•e-Magazines
• web sites

One requires Internet to access e-resources.

These are all available at UNIZULU Library.

Recommended Chemistry Databases

JoVe

JoVe is the world-leading producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. Millions of scientists, educators and students at thousands of universities, colleges, hospitals and biopharmaceutical companies worldwide use JoVE for their research, teaching and learning.

Benefits Of Using JoVe 

IEEE Xplore

The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.

IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

The content in IEEE Xplore comprises:

  • 195+ journals
  • 1,900+ annual conferences
  • 9,000+ technical standards
  • Approximately 2,400 books
  • 485+ educational courses

Approximately 20,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Access to full-text documents in IEEE Xplore can be obtained from:

  • A broad range of institutional subscription options
  • Exclusive subscriptions available to IEEE members and IEEE society members
  • Online purchase of individual documents (at discounted prices for IEEE members)

A-Z List of UNIZULU Databases

A-Z List of Databases and Trial Databases

These are all databases that UNIZULU Library subscribes to both multi-disciplinary and subject specific.

University of Zululand Library Guides