LibGuides: Mathematics, Science and Technology Education: E-Resources

How to access electronic databases

The Library subscribes to over 130 electronic databases such as ScienceDirect, JSTOR, Emerald, etc. They include:

E-journals (full text & bibliographic)
E-books and other material

Access to e-Resources

To access UNIZULU Library’s electronic resources – whether on campus or off campus users have to sign in using Open Athens, which requires using the same credentials for signing in to your UNIZULU email, WiFi, or Lab Access. On-campus students/staff can activate their accounts at the UNIZULU computer labs ICT help desks and off-campus students/staff should send an email to labs@unizulu.ac.za with a request to reset their accounts.

After activating your account, please use the following steps:

1. Go to the UNIZULU website www.unizulu.ac.za and click 'Library'

2. Click the 'Off-campus' link

3. On the page 'Off-Campus Access', Click on 'Please click here

4. Now you have to sign in to OpenAthens (select 'UNIZULU students’ or UNIZULU staff)

5. Enter user ID (institutional email) and password as if it is for checking your email (e.g. nenef - user ID and enter your password in the relevant box) and click 'continue'.

This will take you to the list of the databases which you can search individually or

use Ebsco Discovery Service which allows you to search through all UNIZULU subscribed databases (same as Google).

………………………………………………

For training on how to use e-Resources consult

Ms. Fikile Gina on 035 9026469

Email: ginaf@unizulu.ac.za

Recommended Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Further, researchers can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education as well as on the intended audience such as Counsellors or Teachers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
Wiley Online Collection This link opens in a new window
Wiley is proud to support you with a full range of unrivalled journals, books, major reference works, and databases to further your research and progress in your chosen field. We support you to find, collate, and consume the information that you need to strengthen your research output. Wiley develop digital education, learning, assessment, and certification solutions to help universities, businesses, and individuals move between education and employment and achieve their ambitions. By partnering with learned societies, we support researchers to communicate discoveries that make a difference. Our online scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly journals, books, and other digital content build on a 200-year heritage of quality publishing.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate, offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology,
AAcademic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, bio-medicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.

A-Z Database List