LibGuides: Social Sciences Education: Electronic Resources

How to access electronic resources

The Library subscribes to over 130 electronic databases such as ScienceDirect, JSTOR, Emerald, etc. They include:

E-journals (full text & bibliographic)
E-books and other material

Access to e-Resources

To access UNIZULU Library’s electronic resources – whether on campus or off campus users have to sign in using Open Athens which requires to use of the same credentials for signing in to your UNIZULU email, WiFi, or Lab Access. On-campus students/staff can activate their accounts at the UNIZULU computer labs ICT help desks and off-campus students/staff should send an email to labs@unizulu.ac.za with a request to reset their accounts.

After activating your account, please use the following steps:

1. Go to the UNIZULU website www.unizulu.ac.za and click 'Library'

2. Click the 'Off-campus' link

3. On the page 'Off-Campus Access', Click on 'Please click here

4. Now you have to sign in to OpenAthens (select 'UNIZULU students’ or UNIZULU staff)

5. Enter user ID (institutional email) and password as if it is for checking your email (e.g. nenef - user ID and enter your password in the relevant box) and click 'continue'.

This will take you to the list of the databases which you can search individually or

use Ebsco Discovery Service, which allows search through all UNIZULU subscribed databases (same as Google).

………………………………………………

For training on how to use e-Resources contact Ms. Fikile Gina

Social Sciences databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Further, researchers can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education as well as on the intended audience such as Counsellors or Teachers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
With the Web of Science platform, you can access an unrivalled breadth of world-class research literature linked to a rigorously selected core of journals and uniquely discover new information through meticulously captured metadata and citation connections.The Web of Science platform connects the Web of Science Core Collection to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, all in all totaling over 33,000 journals, meaning you have the breadth you need to be truly comprehensive in your search.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.