Skip to Main Content

Scholarly Communication Guide: Research Design

This guide provides information on the support services available at the library to help with all stages of your research, from planning your research, to measuring the impact of your research.

Research Design

A research plan is a framework that outlines your intended method of investigation. A written outline, a story, a concept map, a timetable, or a graphic representation can all be used as the plan. It's a document that will evolve when you work through your investigation.
Components of a Research Plan
1. Research conceptualization: this section presents your inquiry
2. Research methodology: outlines how you intend to address the research subject.
3. Review of the literature, critical analysis, and synthesis: a methodical technique to identifying, examining and rating the material (texts, exhibits, reviews, etc.) that is relevant to your subject
4. Communication that demonstrates proof of your inquiry and is directed toward an intended audience

For a more comprehensive understanding of a Research plan, please refer to Sage Project Planner

Start by outlining your initial research question and hypothesis before you compose your full research plan. Then, take it from there and start extending your research topic. Here is a step-by-step guide to creating a well-crafted research question:

Selecting a subject: What particular topic or problem would this study try to shed light on? Which particular case study will serve as the foundation for this study?

Driving the inquiry: What makes your research relevant, and how? What new theoretical insights will this study provide, and what, if any, social relevance does it have?

Creating a structure: In what way will this study contribute to the current scientific discourse? Which direction will this probe be taken? Which scientific hypotheses or models can serve as the foundation for this inquiry.

More information is available on Sage Project Planner.

A research design is essentially a blueprint outlining your proposed approach to answering your research question. . It should include a description of your research objectives and your strategy for achieving them. It should contain, among other things, information about your:

  • Research Methods
  •  Research (Data Collection)
  • Analyzing and Interpreting Data
  • Population and (if relevant) Sampling
  • Theoretical Aspect (if relevant)

There are several types of designs that can be employed when deciding the best approach to research. The type of research design is primarily determined by the question being asked, the hypothesis being presented, the subject of the study, and the variables involved. Depending on the information being sought through the research process, a study can be designed to search for either qualitative or quantitative information. Some of these design types include:

  • Descriptive (can be qualitative and/or quantitative) - These research designs are used to determine the relationships between variables. Descriptive research designs seek to provide an accurate description of a person(s), event, or phenomenon. This design uses one variable as a comparison to others in order to find how they relate.
  • Correlational (quantitative): This is a non-experimental research design that looks at the statistical relationships between two variables. Correlational designs are used to determine if their is a causal relationship between the variables, and how much of a relationship there is between them.This type of design is especially useful when an independent variable is unable to be changed.
  • Experimental (quantitative): These research designs are often referred to interchangeably with randomized experiments. True experimental designs have independent variables that are altered to test the dependent variable. These designs work to remove any confounding factors that may arise during the experiment.
  • Quasi experimental (tends to be both quantitative and qualitative) - Designs of this nature have the same purpose as true experimental designs; however, they do not use randomization for control purposes. A quasi-experimental design is used when all the criteria to perform a true-experimental design are unable to be fulfilled.

 

Research methods

The gathering of numerical data and the application of statistical analysis to reach conclusions are aspects of quantitative research methods. Research questions that seek to test hypotheses, assess the relationship between variables, or make predictions can benefit from this approach. The following advice can help you select quantitative research methods:

Determine the research question:Assess whether gathering numerical data is the most effective way to address your research issue. Research questions that can be quantified, such as those that inquire how much, how many, or how often, are best suited for quantitative research.

Observations, focus groups, interviews, and other non-numerical data collection techniques are used in qualitative research methodologies. Research questions that seek to examine people's experiences, viewpoints, and views are appropriate for this approach. The following advice can help you select qualitative research methods:

Determine the research question: Ascertain whether gathering non-numerical data is the best way to address your research issue. Research topics requiring a thorough comprehension of intricate social phenomena, such as social structures, human behavior, or culture, are best suited for qualitative research.

To gather and interpret data, mixed methods research combines quantitative and qualitative research techniques. This approach works well for research topics that call for a thorough comprehension of a phenomenon. The following advice can help you select mixed methods research:

Determine the research question: Ascertain whether a mixed methods strategy is necessary to answer your research topic. Research issues that call for a combination of numerical and non-numerical data to offer a more thorough picture of the phenomenon under study are best suited for mixed methods research.

Data Collection

What is data collection?

Data collection is the process of acquiring and assessing data on relevant variables in a predetermined, methodical manner so as to address research questions, test hypotheses, and assess results . Any discipline of study, including the humanities, business, social and physical sciences, etc., has a data collection component. Although techniques differ depending on the field, making sure that the collection is honest and accurate always comes first.

 

Surveys:

  • Involves gathering information from individuals by using a questionnaire.
  • Can generate standardized, quantifiable, empirical data as well as qualitative data.
  • Can reach large number of respondents.
  • Development involves creating questions and response categories; writing up background information and instructions; and determining organization, layout and design

Advantages

  • can complete anonymously
  • inexpensive to administer
  • easy to compare and analyze
  • administer to many people
  • can get lots of data
  • many sample questionnaires already exist

Interviews

This is a method of data collection that uses participants' responses to a researcher's questions. The aim is to get at the true thoughts, feelings, behaviours, motivations, and experiences of an individual.

They can be semi-structured or structured. Semi-structured interviews are more fluid and changeable in the order and content of the questions than structured interviews.  

Advantages: 

  • Interviews allow the researcher to collect in-depth and detailed information.
  • Can gain valuable insights.
  • Good for getting information on priorities, ideas and opinions.
  • Can be flexible, allowing for developing lines of enquiry.

Disadvantages: 

  • The data collected is based on what people say - this may not really reflect the truth.
  • Recording may lead to inhibitions from the participant.
  • The interviewer's self presentation, attitude, or the way that the questions are worded can bias subjects’ answers.
  • Data analysis can be time consuming.
  • If interviewees are geographical dispersed then costs can be high.
  • Can be intrusive and invades privacy.

This is an interview on a specific pre-determined topic but with a group. It is facilitated by a moderator (usually the researcher). The interaction between individuals is considered an important part of the data to be collected.

Focus groups

Consists of a small group usually made up of six to twelve people. It aims to 

  • Gather opinions, beliefs, and attitudes about issues of interest
  • The group  is led through an open discussion by a skilled moderator
  • Allows testing of assumptions
  • Encourages discussion about a particular topic

Advantages: 

  • Can collect a large amount of data quickly.
  • The session has a focus.
  • The dynamics of the group are considered.

Disadvantages:

  • One person could dominate the discussion and that could have a effect on the groups interaction and the data collected.
  • A participant may be reluctant to contribute to the discussion.
  • Important to establish trust within the group

Observation 

This approach  gathesr data by watching people, events, or noting physical characteristics in their natural setting. Observations can be overt (subjects know they are being observed) or covert (do not know they are being watched).

Participant Observation

  • Researcher becomes a participant in the culture or context being observed.
  • Requires researcher to be accepted as part of culture being observed in order for success

Direct Observation

  • Researcher strives to be as unobtrusive as possible so as not to bias the observations; more detached.
  • Technology can be useful (i.e video, audiorecording).

Indirect Observation

  • Results of an interaction, process or behavior are observed (for example, measuring the amount of plate waste left by students in a school cafeteria to determine whether a new food is acceptable to them)

Case study

  • Attempts to shed light on a phenomenon by studying a single case example.
  • Focuses on an individual person, an event, a group, or an institution.
  • Allows for in-depth examination by prolonged engagement or cultural immersion
  • Explores processes and outcomes
  • Investigates the context and setting of a situation
  • Can involve a number of data gathering methods

Acknowledgements

Recommended Literature