LibGuides: Transport and Logistics: Referencing

What are Reference Management Tools

Reference management tools allow you to store and manage the references that you gather in the course of your research. All 3 of the reference management tools (which UNIZULU uses) mentioned on this page share the following common features:

Add references manually, or by importing a PDF or a reference from a database
Organize your references into groups or folders
Share your references with other people
Create a reference list in a chosen referencing style
Insert in-text references while writing in Microsoft Word in a chosen referencing style (Write and Cite)

For training on how to use these reference management tools contact:

Mrs Bongiwe Nkuhlu - Nkuhlub@unizulu.ac.za

EndNOTE X9

EndNote is a reference management tool that helps to organize all your references in one database, called EndNote library. It allows you to enter manually or download from the databases, Google Scholar, etc. your references to books, journal articles, theses & dissertations, websites and other information resources. This will assist you to insert citations and references from your EndNote library into your thesis/dissertation or your project and automatically build a bibliography according to the selected reference style (e.g. APA, Harvard, etc.) in Microsoft Word.

For you to access EndNote use the UNIZULU elearning portal on the link below:

http://elearn.uzulu.ac.za/index.php/endnote

Find a video below on how to use EndNote in 6 minutes:

https://youtu.be/7e6-6QkcYm0

Zotero

Zotero collects, manages and allows you to cite references. In other words, Zotero will help you get organised, save time and collaborate your work.. You can also attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Below is a 15 minute video link on how to use Zotero:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mP5AzJHXfIA

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free reference management software package, also known as bibliographic software, which enables you to:

Create a personal database of references relevant to you, along with associated files, to easily manage your research;
De-duplicate references retrieved from multiple sources;
Insert references into a Word document and format them automatically in a citation style of your choice;
Showcase your work and connect and collaborate with researchers worldwide.

This video from Mendeley is a good introduction to using the software.