Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Zululand Library Guides
What are Reference Sources
Reference materials are various sources (e.g. dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, handbooks, indexes, etc.) that provide background information or quick facts on any given topic.
Reference sources can be general or specialized (available in print and/or electronic formats) and cannot be checked out of the library.
Handbook of Action Research by
Call Number: R 300.72 HAN
Publication Date: 2001-02-06
Qualitative Inquiry by
Call Number: R 300.72 SCH
Publication Date: 1997-03-20
The SAGE Dictionary of Qualitative Inquiry by
Call Number: R 300.721 SCH
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
South African Human Sciences Research networking directory by
Call Number: R 300.72068 SOU
Publication Date: 1996
Online Reference Sources
Fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The combination of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals.
Gale Reference Complete
Gale Reference Complete is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database with an authoritative content available across all disciplines and has key primary and secondary sources like journals, ebooks, references and newspapers etc.
Oxford Reference provides access to Oxford University Press' dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias