Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Zululand Library Guides
What Are Reference Sources?
Reference materials are various sources (e.g. dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, handbooks, indexes, etc.) that provide background information or quick facts on any given topic.
Reference sources can be general or specialized (available in print and/or electronic formats) and cannot be checked out of the library.
UNIZULU Reference Sources
Gale Referencing Complete
Gale connects libraries to learning and learners to libraries
For more than 60 years, Gale, a Cengage Company has partnered with libraries around the world to empower the discovery of knowledge and insights by all people, for all purposes. Knowledge is power, and the act of learning is empowering. Access to knowledge offers learners an opportunity to discover the motivation and inspiration vital to making a positive contribution in not only their own lives, but the rest of the world. That’s why Gale provides libraries with original and curated content, as well as the modern research tools that are crucial in connecting libraries to learning, and learners to libraries.
Oxford Reference provides access to Oxford University Press' dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias
Fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The combination of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals.
This platform will provide you with a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products.
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.
An overview of AccessScience
• MORE THAN 8700 ARTICLES covering all major scientific disciplines are continuously reviewed and updated
• 115,000-PLUS DEFINITIONS from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms are built into search results
• HUNDREDS OF BRIEFINGS about relevant concepts in science and technology provide a great starting place for research topic ideas
• 3000 BIOGRAPHIES cover well-known scientific figures
• 19,000-PLUS IMAGES AND ANIMATIONS illustrate key concepts in engaging and meaningful ways
• VIDEO BIOGRAPHIES highlight the life and work of award-winning scientists
• PERSISTENT LINKS TO CITABLE LITERATURE support research assignments through primary sources of information
• INTERACTIVE CITATION GENERATOR saves time and effort when preparing papers
• CURRICULUM MAPS tied to core content can enrich faculty lesson plans
• OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS allows easy, anytime access outside of institutional IP ranges
Video tutorials :
AccessScience Navigating the Site and Using Content
Tips for Students Using AccessScience
UNIZULU Mathematical Sciences Reference Sources
Oxford mathematics dictionary. Grade 10-12 by
Call Number: R 510.3 TAP
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by
Call Number: R 510.3 CLA
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
Authoritative and reliable, this A-Z provides jargon-free definitions for even the most technical mathematical terms. With over 3,000 entries ranging from Achilles paradox to zero matrix, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics,for example, linear algebra, optimisation, nonlinear equations, and differential equations. In addition, there are entries on major mathematicians and on topics of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos.Using graphs, diagrams, and charts to render definitions as comprehensible as possible, entries are clear and accessible. Almost 200 new entries have been added to this edition, including terms such as arrow paradox, nested set, and symbolic logic. Useful appendices follow the A-Z dictionary andinclude lists of Nobel Prize winners and Fields' medallists, Greek letters, formulae, and tables of inequalities, moments of inertia, Roman numerals, a geometry summary, additional trigonometric values of special angles, and many more. This edition contains recommended web links, which areaccessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Mathematics companion website.Fully revised and updated in line with curriculum and degree requirements, this dictionary is indispensable for students and teachers of mathematics, and for anyone encountering mathematics in the workplace.