E-books: Digital versions of books that can be read on computers, tablets, e-readers, or smartphones. Examples include textbooks, reference books, and academic monographs.
Online Journals and Articles: Scholarly articles and research papers published in digital format. These can be accessed through academic databases or publisher websites.
Databases: Collections of digital information organized for easy retrieval. Examples include bibliographic databases (like PsycINFO), full-text databases (like JSTOR or ProQuest), and specialized databases (Science Direct for Engineering).
Digital Archives: Historical documents, manuscripts, and other records digitized for online access. These can include newspapers, magazines, and photographs
Multimedia Resources: Includes digital audio recordings, video lectures, and other multimedia content. Examples are educational videos, podcasts, and interactive tutorials.
Websites and Online Platforms: Educational websites, blogs, and online platforms that provide research and learning materials. Examples include academic publisher websites and online course platforms.
Repositories: Institutional or subject-specific repositories where research outputs, theses, dissertations, and other academic works are stored. Examples include institutional repositories hosted by universities
Reference Works: Digital encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference materials. Examples include online encyclopedias like Britannica or specialized reference works in fields like law.
e-Journals: Scholarly and professional journals available in electronic format. They can be accessed via subscription or open-access models.
e-Newspapers and e-Magazens: Digital versions of newspapers, offering current news and historical archives.
The Library subscribes to an extensive number of electronic databases such as ScienceDirect, JSTOR, Emerald, etc. They include:
Access to e-Resources
To access UNIZULU Library’s electronic resources – whether on campus or off campus users have to sign in using Open Athens which requires to use of the same credentials for signing in to your UNIZULU email, WiFi, or Lab Access. On-campus students/staff can activate their accounts at the UNIZULU computer labs ICT help desks and off-campus students/staff should send an email to labs@unizulu.ac.za with a request to reset their accounts.
After activating your account, please use the following steps:
1. Go to UNIZULU website www.unizulu.ac.za and click 'Library'
2. Click 'Off-campus' link
3. On the page 'Off-Campus Access', Click on 'Please click here'
4. Now you have to sign in to OpenAthens (select 'UNIZULU students’ or UNIZULU staff)
5. Enter your user ID (institutional email) and password as if it is for checking your email (e.g. need - user ID and enter your password in the relevant box) and click 'continue'.
Search: Use the search functionality to find specific resources. You can search by title, author, or keywords. Also one can use advanced search options.
Browse Categories: Some portals allow you to browse resources by category, such as e-books, journals, or databases.
Database Access: If you’re looking for a specific database, such as JSTOR, ProQuest, or SAGE, you might find a direct link to it in the library’s portal. Click on the link to access the database.
Download/Read Online: Depending on the resource, you may have the option to download or read it online. Look for options like "PDF," "Full Text," or "Read Online."
Interlibrary Loan: If the resource you need isn’t available, click on the " Other Libraries " featurer
Help and Support: If you encounter difficulties, libraries usually offer help through chat, email, or in-person support.
To book for training, on how to use e-Resources consult your relevant Information Librarian.
Faculty of Arts Librarian (Ms Faith Nsele)
Email: NseleF@unizulu.ac.za
Location:3rd floor
Tel. : 0359026688