African Languages and Culture: Research Support

South Africa is home to a rich linguistic and cultural heritage, with 11 official languages and a wide array of traditions that reflect the diversity of its people. Here's a closer look at South African languages and culture:

Languages of South Africa

1. IsiZulu

   • Spoken by nearly 25% of the population, it is the most widely spoken language in South Africa.
   • IsiZulu is a Bantu language belonging to the Nguni group and is known for its click sounds.
   • It carries a rich oral tradition of folklore, storytelling, and praise poetry.

2. IsiXhosa

   • Spoken by about 16% of South Africans, primarily in the Eastern Cape and Western Cape provinces.
   • Like isiZulu, it is also a Bantu language with distinctive click sounds and strong oral traditions.
   • Xhosa culture emphasizes communal living, respect for elders, and the importance of rites of passage, such as initiation.

3. Afrikaans

   • Afrikaans is derived from Dutch, brought to South Africa by European settlers in the 17th century.
   • It is spoken by about 13% of the population, mostly by Afrikaners and Coloured communities.
   • Afrikaans literature and music have played a significant role in shaping the cultural identity of many South Africans.

4. Sesotho

   • Spoken mainly in Lesotho and parts of South Africa, Sesotho is used by about 8% of the population.
   • The language reflects the history and identity of the Basotho people.
   • Sesotho culture emphasizes community values, including respect for customs and traditional leadership.

5. Setswana

   • Spoken primarily in the North West province and Botswana, this language is part of the Sotho-Tswana group.
   • Setswana culture has a strong connection to cattle farming, traditional governance, and ceremonies.

6. English

   • While spoken as a first language by only 9.6% of the population, English is the primary language of government, education, and business.
   • It is often used as a lingua franca between speakers of different native languages.
   • English has influenced South African literature, media, and public discourse.

7. Xitsonga

   • This language is spoken by about 4.5% of the population, mainly in Limpopo and Mpumalanga.
   • The Tsonga people have a distinct musical heritage, with instruments like the xylophone being important to cultural ceremonies.

8. Xitsonga and Tshivenda

   • Tshivenda is spoken by the Venda people, primarily in the Limpopo province.
   • Both Xitsonga and Tshivenda cultures celebrate traditional dance, music, and art forms, particularly in rural communities.

• Ubuntu Philosophy

  • A key cultural concept in South Africa is Ubuntu, which translates to "I am because we are." It reflects values of community, interconnectedness, and human dignity.
  • Ubuntu emphasizes respect, compassion, and humanity towards others, and it deeply influences how South Africans interact socially.

• Cultural Rites and Traditions

  • Initiation ceremonies are central in many South African cultures, especially among Nguni-speaking groups (like Zulu and Xhosa). These rites mark the transition from childhood to adulthood.
  • Traditional weddings involve a range of customs, from bride price negotiations (lobola) to elaborate ceremonies that often blend Western and African elements.
  • Ancestral worship is significant in many cultures, where ancestors are believed to play a protective and guiding role in people’s lives.

• Music and Dance

  • South Africa has a vibrant music scene that includes traditional genres like maskandi and mbube, as well as popular forms like kwaito, gqom, and house music.
  • Dance is integral to many cultural ceremonies, with each community having distinct styles, such as Zulu indlamu, a warrior dance, and Tswana tswana dance, known for its rhythmic footwork.

• Art and Craft

  • South Africa is famous for its beadwork, pottery, and basketry, which vary across different ethnic groups.
  • Ndebele house painting and beadwork are renowned for their geometric patterns and bright colors, often symbolizing status and identity.

• Heritage and Identity

  • South Africa’s complex history, including colonialism, apartheid, and liberation, has shaped its diverse cultural landscape.
  • The recognition of cultural heritage is celebrated through public holidays like Heritage Day (September 24), where citizens are encouraged to embrace their cultural traditions

​​​​​​​

• The Zulu Reed Dance (Umkhosi woMhlanga) is an annual ceremony where young Zulu women present reed stalks to the king as a symbol of purity and womanhood.
• Cape Minstrel Carnival (Kaapse Klopse) is a colorful New Year celebration in Cape Town, rooted in the historical experiences of freed slaves.
• Marula Festival in Limpopo celebrates the harvest of the marula fruit, a symbol of fertility and prosperity among the Tsonga and Venda people.

Accessing Library Catalogue Primo

• Navigate to Primo Library Page: https: //library. Unizulu.ac.za
• Members of University of Zululand: Click on the Sign in left hand corner
• For username use the university e-mail address and password to sign in

. Use the Library’s Online Catalog (e.g., Primo)

• Access your library’s online catalog (Primo ) through the library website.
• Search by Keywords: Enter relevant keywords such as African languages, African culture, or specific languages like Zulu, Xhosa,  etc.
  • Example: African languages culture, Zulu linguistics
• Use Boolean Operators: Combine keywords for more targeted results.
  • Example: African AND languages AND culture.

2. Refine Your Search

• Filter by Format: Select Books, eBooks, or both, depending on your preference.
• Language Filter: Apply language filters to narrow down books in African languages 
• Subject Categories: Use the subject filter to explore topics like African culture, folklore, or ethnolinguistics.

3. Search by Subject Heading

• Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) can help you find books on African languages and culture.
  • Search terms could include:
    • African languages – History
    • Zulu language – Grammar
    • Swahili culture – Customs and traditions

4. Check eBook Platforms

• If your library provides access to eBook platforms like ProQuest eBook Central, Perlego, or SAGE , search directly on these platforms for African languages and culture titles.
• Use specific keywords and categories related to linguistics, folklore, and culture.

5. Ask a Librarian

• Consult a librarian for personalized assistance, recommendations, or advanced search techniques in finding specialized African language and culture resources.

African Language and Literature Journals

Journals are published  weekly or monthly. They are academic magazines that contain articles on different topics. Journals are important for finding very up-to-date information, or very specific information on narrow topics. The great thing about journals nowadays is that so many of them are available electronically as well as in print, although that is not always the case in this field.

Printed Journals

The latest unbound journals are kept at basement. The bound copies since 1965 are located in the basement. 

Electronic Journals

Many of our journals can also be found full text in electronic format on our databases. These databases contain thousands of journals, all searchable by keywords, like chunk of Google.

Most of the journals are full text nowadays. In some cases, though, the databases may just give a reference to the journal article, rather than the whole thing. This will tell you which year and volume and pages of a particular print journal to look at to find the article.

Open access refers to the practice of making peer-reviewed scholarly research and literature freely available online to anyone interested in reading it. It is simply making research available for others to read without having to pay for it.

How to Use Perlego

1. Accessing Perlego

• Sign in to your Perlego account via the web browser or mobile app.
• Use the search bar to find the book you're looking for. You can search by title, author, or topic.
• Once you’ve found the eBook, click on it to open it.

2. Highlighting and Annotating

As you read, you can highlight sections of the text or add notes:

• Select the text you want to highlight by clicking and dragging over it.
• A small toolbar will appear, allowing you to highlight the text or add a note.
• These highlights and notes are saved to your Perlego account and can be accessed from anywhere, as long as you're logged in.

3. Printing (Limited)

• Printing is not available in Perlego as you would find in traditional eBook platforms like ProQuest or JSTOR.
• If you need to print something from Perlego, your best option is to manually take notes from the book.

4. Reading and Navigating the Book

• Use the Table of Contents on the left side of the screen to jump between chapters.
• You can adjust the font size, line spacing, and brightness in the reading interface by clicking on the text settings icon.

5. Search Within a Book

• If you want to find a specific term or section within the book, use the search bar at the top while reading. This will help you quickly navigate to relevant sections of the eBook.

ProQuest eBook Central

Saving or Downloading Chapters:

• Navigate to the eBook in ProQuest eBook Central.
• Click on the Download Chapter button located near the chapter title.
• You may be prompted to select the citation style and agree to the terms of usage (depending on the DRM limits).
• Download the chapter in PDF format, which will be saved to your device.

Printing:

• Open the eBook and go to the chapter you want to print.
• Click the Print to PDF option (located at the top of the viewer).
• Select the range of pages you want to print (often limited to a set number of pages per session).
• Confirm, and the PDF version will open in your browser for printing.

Emailing:

• While there’s no direct email option, you can download the chapter as a PDF and then email it through your preferred email service.

3. General eBook Platforms (e.g., Springer, JSTOR)

Saving or Downloading Chapters:

• Most eBook platforms offer the ability to download individual chapters in PDF format.
  • Navigate to the chapter.
  • Look for a Download PDF button.
  • Save the file to your device.

Printing:

• Navigate to the chapter and click on the Print icon (often found in the toolbar).
• Select the number of pages or range allowed by the platform.

Open your library's website and navigate to the Primo catalogue or  "Library Catalogue Primo."

1. Sign in:
   If required, sign in using your university credentials (student/staff ID and password) to access the full range of resources.

2. Search for e-books:
   Use the search bar to enter keywords, titles, authors, or subjects related to the e-book you are looking for. You can use quotation marks around phrases for a more specific search.

3. Filter your search:
   Once the search results are displayed, use the filters on the left side of the screen to narrow down the results. Under "Resource Type", select "eBooks" to display only the available e-books.

4. Access the e-book:
   In the search results, click on the title of the e-book you are interested in. This will take you to the detailed record of the book.

5. View online:
   In the book's record, look for the " Online" or "Full Text Available" link. This will redirect you to the platform where the e-book is hosted, such as ProQuest, EBSCO, or another e-book provider.

6. Read or download the e-book:
   Depending on the e-book platform, you can either read the book online or download sections/chapters for offline reading. Some platforms may require you to create a personal account or use specific software like Adobe Digital Editions for downloading.

7. Check usage rights:
   Be mindful of any usage restrictions, such as limits on printing or downloading sections of the e-book.

Highlighting and Note-Taking:

• Many eBook platforms offer built-in tools that allow users to highlight specific text and take notes while reading.
• These notes are often stored within the eBook and can be easily accessed later, making it convenient to review important points or study key concepts.
• Notes and highlights may also be exported or synced across devices, depending on the platform.

• Searching within the Book:

• A common feature in eBooks is the ability to search for specific words, phrases, or topics within the text.
• ​​​​​​​This saves time by allowing readers to jump directly to the relevant sections, which is particularly useful for academic research or finding key information in large texts.
• Some platforms also offer advanced search options, such as filtering by chapter or section.
• Adjusting Reading Preferences:

• Most eBook platforms provide customization options to enhance the reading experience.

• Users can adjust the font size, font type, line spacing, and background color (e.g., night mode for low-light reading).

• These features allow readers to tailor the display to their preferences, making reading more comfortable and accessible for different visual needs.

• Accessing Citations:

  • Many eBook platforms provide tools to generate automatic citations in various styles, such as APA, Harvard, MLA, and Chicago.
  • This feature is particularly useful for academic writing, allowing users to quickly create accurate citations and avoid plagiarism.
  • Citations can often be copied directly or exported to citation management tools like EndNote, Zotero, or RefWorks.

• Creating and Organizing Bookshelves/Collections:

  • Users can organize their eBooks into personalized bookshelves or collections based on topics, courses, or research projects.
  • This helps in efficiently managing large numbers of eBooks and quickly accessing them when needed.
  • Some platforms may offer tagging options or folders, allowing further customization for organizing content.

• Accessibility Features:

  • Many eBook platforms are designed with accessibility in mind, offering features like text-to-speech for users who prefer or need to listen to the text being read aloud.
  • Some platforms also integrate with screen readers, and users may have the ability to adjust settings such as contrast, fonts, or background colors to accommodate visual impairments.
  • These features make eBooks more inclusive and usable for individuals with different needs.

• Offline Reading:

  • Several eBook platforms allow users to download eBooks for offline reading, especially through mobile apps.
  • Once downloaded, the eBook can be accessed without an internet connection, which is ideal for users who may not have consistent access to Wi-Fi or data.
  • Downloaded eBooks usually sync back with the user's online account when reconnected, updating notes, highlights, and reading progress.

Journals can vary in format and content, including:

1. Academic Journals: These publish research articles, reviews, and theoretical papers in various disciplines like science, humanities, and social sciences. They often follow a rigorous peer-review process.

2. Professional Journals: Aimed at practitioners in a particular field, these may include practical advice, case studies, and industry news.

3. Personal Journals: Unlike academic or professional journals, personal journals are private records of individual experiences, thoughts, and reflections. These are not intended for publication but rather for personal use.

Journals offer several advantages, particularly for researchers, students, and professionals:

1. Credibility and Peer Review: Academic journals typically involve a peer review process, which helps ensure the credibility and quality of the published research. This process involves experts in the field evaluating the research before publication.

2. Specialization: Journals often focus on specific disciplines or sub-disciplines, providing in-depth coverage of specialized topics that might not be available in general sources.

3. Current Research: Journals frequently publish the latest research findings, keeping readers up-to-date with recent developments and trends in their field.

4. Detailed Information: Articles in journals are usually comprehensive, providing detailed methodologies, data, and analyses that allow for a deeper understanding of the topic.

5. Citations and References: Journals offer a wealth of references and citations that can be used for further research. They often include extensive bibliographies that lead to additional relevant studies.

6. Academic Recognition: Publishing in reputable journals is often considered a significant achievement and can enhance the academic reputation of researchers. It contributes to their professional development and career advancement.

7. Access to Research Networks: Journals often facilitate access to research networks and communities, fostering collaboration and discussion among researchers and professionals in the field.

8. Structured Content: The structured format of journal articles, including abstracts, introductions, methods, results, and conclusions, helps readers quickly find and understand the key points of the research.

9. Archival Value: Journals serve as a permanent record of research and scholarship, preserving knowledge for future generations. They are often archived and accessible for long-term reference.

10. Academic Integrity: The rigorous review process and ethical standards of academic journals help maintain academic integrity and prevent the dissemination of false or misleading information.

To access journals using the library catalogue Primo, follow these steps:

Open Primo:

• Go to your library’s website and find the Primo search interface.

Search for Journals:

• ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Enter the journal title, ISSN, or related keywords into the search bar. You can use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to refine your search if needed.

Apply Filters:

• ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Once you’ve executed the search, use the filters on the left side of the page to narrow down your results. Filters may include resource type, publication date, subject, and more. Select “Journals” or “Periodicals” as your resource type if available.
• Select a Journal:
• Browse through the search results to find the journal you need. Click on the title to view more details.

Check Availability:

• ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​In the journal’s detailed view, check for availability. There might be links to online access, physical copies, or information about where to find the journal in the library.

Access Full Text:

• ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​If the journal is available online, look for a link to the full text or the publisher’s site. You may need to log in with your library credentials to access subscription-based content.

Use the Library's Link Resolver:

• ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​If the journal is not immediately accessible through Primo, there might be a link resolver or a “Find It” button that will guide you to alternative ways to access the journal, including interlibrary loan options.

1. Contact Library Support:

• ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​If you encounter difficulties or need further assistance, reach out to your library's ask a librarian  or speak to your librarian

For more information:

Please contact :Faculty of Arts Librarian

Ms. Faith Nsele

E-mail Address                                : NseleF@unizulu.ac.za

Location                                           : 2nd Floor

Tel                                                    : 0359026688

• E-books: Digital versions of books that can be read on computers, tablets, e-readers, or smartphones. Examples include textbooks, reference books, and academic monographs.

• Online Journals and Articles: Scholarly articles and research papers published in digital format. These can be accessed through academic databases or publisher websites.

• Databases: Collections of digital information organized for easy retrieval. Examples include bibliographic databases (like  PsycINFO), full-text databases (like JSTOR or ProQuest), and specialized databases (Science Direct for Engineering).

• Digital Archives: Historical documents, manuscripts, and other records digitized for online access. These can include newspapers, magazines, and  photographs

• Multimedia Resources: Includes digital audio recordings, video lectures, and other multimedia content. Examples are educational videos, podcasts, and interactive tutorials.

• Websites and Online Platforms: Educational websites, blogs, and online platforms that provide research and learning materials. Examples include academic publisher websites and online course platforms.

• Repositories: Institutional or subject-specific repositories where research outputs, theses, dissertations, and other academic works are stored. Examples include institutional repositories hosted by universities

• Reference Works: Digital encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference materials. Examples include online encyclopedias like Britannica or specialized reference works in fields like law.

• e-Journals: Scholarly and professional journals available in electronic format. They can be accessed via subscription or open-access models.

• e-Newspapers and e-Magazens: Digital versions of newspapers, offering current news and historical archives.

The Library subscribes to an extensive number of electronic databases such as ScienceDirect, JSTOR, Emerald, etc. They include:

• E-journals (full text & bibliographic)
• E-books and other material

Access to e-Resources

To access UNIZULU Library’s electronic resources – whether on campus or off campus users have to sign in using Open Athens which requires to use of the same credentials for signing in to your UNIZULU email, WiFi, or Lab Access. On-campus students/staff can activate their accounts at the UNIZULU computer labs ICT help desks and off-campus students/staff should send an email to labs@unizulu.ac.za with a request to reset their accounts.

After activating your account, please use the following steps:

1. Go to UNIZULU website www.unizulu.ac.za and click 'Library'

2. Click 'Off-campus' link

3. On the page 'Off-Campus Access', Click on 'Please click here'

4. Now you have to sign in to OpenAthens (select  'UNIZULU students’ or UNIZULU staff)

5. Enter your user ID (institutional email) and password as if it is for checking your email (e.g. need - user   ID and enter your password in the relevant box) and click 'continue'.

• Search: Use the search functionality to find specific resources. You can search by title, author, or keywords.  Also one can use advanced search options.

• Browse Categories: Some portals allow you to browse resources by category, such as e-books, journals, or databases.

• Database Access: If you’re looking for a specific database, such as JSTOR, ProQuest, or SAGE, you might find a direct link to it in the library’s portal. Click on the link to access the database.

• Download/Read Online: Depending on the resource, you may have the option to download or read it online. Look for options like "PDF," "Full Text," or "Read Online."

• Interlibrary Loan: If the resource you need isn’t available, click on the " Other Libraries " featurer

• Help and Support: If you encounter difficulties, libraries usually offer help through chat, email, or in-person support.

To book for training, on how to use e-Resources consult your relevant Information Librarian.

Faculty of Arts Librarian (Ms Faith Nsele)

Email: NseleF@unizulu.ac.za

Location:3rd floor

Tel.                                   : 0359026688

Here's what an A-Z list of databases typically includes:

1. Database Name: The name of the database, often with a brief description or link to access it.
2. Alphabetical Order: Databases are listed in alphabetical order to make it easier to find a specific database.
3. Access Information: Details on how to access the database, which might include login information or direct links.

Purpose:

• Convenience: Provides a quick reference to a wide range of databases.
• Organization: Helps users navigate large collections of databases systematically.
• Accessibility: Ensures users can easily find and use the resources they need for research or study.

1. Go to UNIZULU website www.unizulu.ac.za and click 'Library'

2. Click 'Off-campus' link

3. On the page 'Off-Campus Access', Click on 'Please click here'

4. Now you have to sign in to OpenAthens (select  'UNIZULU students’ or UNIZULU staff)

5. Enter your user ID (institutional email) and password as if it is for checking your email (e.g.  nenef - user   ID and enter your password in the relevant box) click 'continue'.

This will take you to the list of databases which you can search individually or

use Library Catalogue Primo which allows to search through all UNIZULU subscribed databases (same as Google).

Here are some general tips for effectively using databases:

1. Start with a Clear Research Question

• Define your topic: Before searching, have a clear idea of what you’re looking for. This will help in using the right keywords and search strategies.

2. Use Keywords Effectively

• Select appropriate keywords: Think about synonyms and related terms. Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to refine your search.
• Use advanced search options: Most databases offer advanced search features to narrow down results by date, author, or publication type.

3. Utilize Filters and Limiters

• Filter by date, document type, or subject: Narrow down results to the most relevant and recent publications.
• Limit to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles: Ensures the credibility and quality of the sources.

4. Explore Database Features

• Alerts and saved searches: Set up alerts for new publications on your topic. Save searches for easy access later.
• Citation tools: Use built-in citation tools to generate citations in various styles like APA, MLA, or Chicago.

5. Evaluate Sources

• Assess credibility: Check the author’s credentials, the publication’s reputation, and the relevance of the content.
• Cross-reference information: Verify details across multiple sources to ensure accuracy.

6. Use Full-Text Access

• Get full-text articles: Use the database’s full-text access or find links to get the complete article if only an abstract is available.

7. Export and Organize References

• Export citations: Export references to citation management tools like EndNote, Zotero, or Mendeley for easy organization.
• Keep track: Organize your findings and notes systematically to streamline your research process.

8. Consult Help Resources

• Use help guides: Many databases offer tutorials and help guides. Utilize these resources for tips and troubleshooting.
• Seek librarian assistance: Don’t hesitate to ask librarians for help with database searches and research strategies.

9. Stay Updated

• Regularly check for updates: Keep up with new features and resources in your databases to maximize their utility.

………………………………………………

For training on how to use e-Resources consult your relevant Information Librarian.

Faculty of Arts Librarian (Ms Faith Nsele)

Email : NseleF@unizulu.ac.za

Location   : 2nd Floor

Tel. : 0359026688

.

What Are eNewspapers and eMagazines?

• eNewspapers: Digital versions of traditional print newspapers, accessible online or through apps.
• eMagazines: Digital formats of magazines, available on various platforms with interactive elements.
• Benefits: Instant access, environmentally friendly, interactive features, and archiving capabilities

How to Search for Articles

• Using Keywords: Utilize search filters (date, language, country).
• Browsing by Category: Explore different sections (news, entertainment, sports).
• Saving Articles: Download or save articles for offline reading.

Case Study: Using PressReader

• Step 1: Open PressReader via your library or app.
• Step 2: Choose the newspaper or magazine.
• Step 3: Customize reading experience (zoom, change view).
• Step 4: Download articles or editions for offline reading.

Limitations

• Digital Divide: Not accessible to all, requires an internet connection and devices.
• Licensing Restrictions: Not all publications are available glo

Via Library: Many academic and public libraries offer free access.

• Log into your library portal: Search for newspaper/magazine databases.
• Access through apps: Downloadable apps for easy reading on mobile devices.

Advantages of Using eNewspapers and eMagazines

• Portability: Access anytime, anywhere.
• Customization: Tailored content recommendations, bookmarks, and search functions.
• Environmental Impact: Reducing paper waste.
• Cost-Effective: Access multiple publications under one subscription.

Download and Installation Steps:

• Go to the UNIZULU library website.
• Navigate to Research Support Tool then click the EndNote link
• Download the installer
• Run the installer and follow the on-screen instructions

Creating an EndNote Library

• Step-by-Step: 
• After installation, open EndNote
• Go to File → New.
• Name your library and choose where to save it.
• Click Save to create "My EndNote Library"

• Manual Entry:
• Click References → New Reference.
• Select the reference type (e.g., book, journal article, etc.).
• Manually enter the details (author, title, year, etc.).
• Click Save.
• Importing from Databases:

Search databases like Web of Science, or Google Scholar.

• Export references in RIS, BibTeX, or EndNote format.
• In EndNote, click File → Import → File to bring them in.

Using Online Search

• Direct Search: EndNote allows you to search databases directly within the software.
  1. Go to Online Search from the toolbar.
  2. Choose a database (e.g., JStore, Web of Science).
  3. Enter your search query and import relevant references directly.

Citing in Microsoft Word (Cite While You Write)

Install the Plugin:

• ​​​​​​​Automatically installed with EndNote; if not, go to Tools → Install Cite While You Write.
• Inserting Citations:
• Open your Word document.
• Go to the EndNote toolbar in Word.
• Click Insert Citation and select a reference from your EndNote library.
• Formatting Bibliographies:
• Choose from various citation styles (APA, MLA, Harvard, etc.).
• Go to Bibliography → Style and select your preferred format.

Customizing Citation Styles

Using Existing Styles:

• Over 6,000 citation styles are available.
• Go to Edit → Output Styles → Open Style Manager.
• Choose a style and apply it.
• Creating Custom Styles:
• Go to Edit → Output Styles → New Style.
• Modify fields like punctuation, formatting, and bibliography order.

Collaboration in EndNote

1. Syncing with EndNote Online:

• Create an EndNote online account.
• Go to Edit → Preferences → Sync.
• Sync your desktop library with your online account.

Sharing Libraries:​​​​​​​

• Go to File → Share.
• Invite collaborators via email to access your library.
• Use EndNote Online for real-time collaboration.

Organizing References

Creating Groups:

• Go to Groups → Create Group.
• Name your group (e.g., Chapter 1, Research Topic).
• Drag and drop references into your group
• Smart Groups: Automatically filter references into a group based on keywords or criteria.
• Go to Groups → Create Smart Group and set rules.
•  Managing PDFs
• Attaching PDFs:
• Drag and drop a PDF directly into a reference.
• Or, right-click on a reference and choose Attach File.
• Annotating PDFs:
• Open the PDF within EndNote.
• Use the built-in tools to highlight text or add notes for future reference.

Consequences of Plagiarism:

• Academic Penalties: May include receiving a failing grade on the assignment or in the course, additional assignments, or mandatory educational sessions on academic integrity.
• Disciplinary Actions: More severe cases may lead to formal disciplinary actions, such as academic probation, suspension, or expulsion.
• Record Keeping: Documentation of the offense may be kept in the student’s academic record, affecting their future academic or professional opportunities.

Procedures for Addressing Plagiarism:

• ​​​​​​​Reporting: Procedures for faculty and students to report suspected plagiarism.
• Investigation: Steps taken to investigate alleged cases, which may involve discussions with the student and faculty review.
• Appeal Process: The process by which students can appeal decisions or penalties related to plagiarism.

• Educational Measures:

• Prevention: Emphasis on educating students about what constitutes plagiarism and how to avoid i

• Resources: Providing access to resources such as citation guides, workshops, and plagiarism detection tools.

• Policy Communication:

• ​​​​​​​Accessibility: The policy should be clearly communicated to students, often included in the student handbook, course syllabi, or orientation materials.

Plagiarism is the act of using someone else's work, ideas, words, or intellectual property without proper acknowledgment or permission and presenting them as your own. It can occur in various forms, including:

1. Copying Text: Using another person's written words verbatim without quoting or citing the source.
2. Paraphrasing: Rewriting someone else's ideas in your own words without giving credit to the original author.
3. Using Data or Research: Incorporating another person’s data, statistics, or findings without proper attribution.
4. Submitting Another’s Work: Turning in someone else’s work as your own, such as using an essay written by a friend or downloading a paper from the internet.
5. Self-Plagiarism: Reusing your own previously submitted work in a new assignment without permission or acknowledgment.

Plagiarism can have serious academic, legal, and professional consequences. To avoid it, proper citation of sources (using styles like APA, MLA, Harvard, etc.) is essential.

[Edit mode is disabled for mapped boxes]

Turnitin is web based software, which promotes academic integrity, streamlines grading and feedback, deters plagiarism, and improves students’ outcomes.

www.turnitin.com

Access & class enrolment

• Please, contact your lecturer

Training

• Please, contact your Faculty information librarians or Research support librarians for the training on Turnitin.

• Blue (0%): No matching text was found in the document. This means that Turnitin did not detect any similarity between the submitted text and its database.

• Green (1-24%): Low level of matching text, indicating minimal overlap with other sources. This might be due to common phrases, references, or quotes. It typically suggests that the document contains a good level of original content.

• Yellow (25-49%): Medium level of matching text. This means a significant portion of the document matches other sources. It could indicate the need for more original writing or better paraphrasing, depending on the nature of the matches.

• Orange (50-74%): High level of matching text. This suggests a large amount of the content is not original, and the writer may need to review and revise their work to reduce reliance on external sources.

• Red (75-100%): Very high level of matching text. Most of the document appears to be copied or not properly cited. This usually raises a red flag for plagiarism and requires immediate attention to avoid academic misconduct.

• Low percentage (e.g., 0-10%): Typically indicates that the work is mostly original, with few or no matching sources.
• Moderate percentage (e.g., 11-25%): May suggest some matched content, which could be common phrases, quotations, or references. Proper citation of sources could still make this acceptable.
• High percentage (e.g., 26% or higher): Suggests a significant amount of similarity to existing work, which could indicate issues with originality or improper citation. It might need further review for potential plagiarism.

Accessing Turnitin

Step 1: Open Your Web Browser

• Go to your preferred web browser (e.g., Google Chrome, Firefox).

Step 2: Go to Turnitin’s Website

• Enter the URL: https://www.turnitin.com in the address bar and press Enter.

Step 3: Log In to Your Account

• For Students:
• Click on the “Log In” button.
• Enter your email address and password.
• Click “Log In”.
• For Instructors:
• Click on the “Log In” button.
• Enter your email address and password.
• Click “Log In”.

 Navigating the Turnitin Dashboard

• Dashboard Overview:
• After logging in, you’ll see the dashboard which includes tabs for Assignments, Feedback Studio, Grading, and User Profile.​​​​​​
• Students: You’ll see your enrolled classes and assignments.
• For Instructors: You’ll see your classes, assignments, and submission status.

Submitting an Assignment (For Students)

Step 1: Select Your Class

• Click on the appropriate class from the dashboard.

• Step 2: Choose the Assignment

• Click on the assignment you need to submit.

• Step 3: Upload Your Paper

• Click the “Submit” button.
• Choose “File Upload”, then click “Choose File” to select your document from your computer.
• Enter any required information such as title.
• Click “Upload” and then “Submit”.

• Step 4: Confirm Submission

• Confirm your submission by checking the confirmation screen or email notification.

Reviewing Your Submission (For Students)

• Step 1: Access Your Submission

• Click on the assignment from your dashboard.

• Step 2: View Originality Report

• Click on the “Originality Report” to view your submission’s results.

• Step 3: Interpreting the Report

• Match Overview: Review the overall similarity percentage.
• Highlighted Text: Look for sections highlighted in the report.
• Source Links: Click on the source links to see where the text matches.

 Creating and Managing Assignments (For Instructors)

• Step 1: Select a Class

• Click on the class for which you want to create an assignment.

• Step 2: Create a New Assignment

• Click “Add Assignment” or “Create Assignment”.
• Enter assignment details such as title, due date, and instructions.

• Step 3: Set Submission Options

Choose settings like file types allowed, late submission policies, and feedback options.

• Step 4: Save and Publish

• Click “Save” or “Publish” to finalize the assignment setup.

 Reviewing and Grading Submissions (For Instructors)

• Step 1: Access Submissions

• Click on the assignment from your dashboard.

• Step 2: Review Originality Reports

• Click on individual submissions to view the originality reports.

• Step 3: Provide Feedback

• Use the Feedback Studio tools to add comments, highlight text, and provide overall feedback.
• Attach a grading rubric if applicable.

• Step 4: Grade the Assignment

• Best Practices for Using Turnitin

• For Students:

• Understand Citation Rules: Ensure you know how to properly cite sources.
• Review Feedback: Use Turnitin’s feedback to improve your writing.

• For Instructors:

• Educate Students: Inform students about plagiarism and proper citation practices.
• Use Feedback Tools: Utilize Turnitin’s feedback tools to provide constructive comments.

 Common Issues and Troubleshooting

• False Positives:

• Issue: Common phrases or properly cited content may appear as matches.
• Solution: Review the context of matches and ensure citations are accurate.

Account basics (for students)

https://help.turnitin.com/feedback-studio/turnitin-website/student/student-category.htm

Student quick start guide

https://help.turnitin.com/feedback-studio/turnitin-website/student/quickstart.htm

Student Resources Hub

The Student Resources Hub gathers some of the most useful content available to students using Turnitin.

 https://help.turnitin.com/feedback-studio/student-resources.htm

• Blue (0%): No matching text was found in the document. This means that Turnitin did not detect any similarity between the submitted text and its database.

• Green (1-24%): Low level of matching text, indicating minimal overlap with other sources. This might be due to common phrases, references, or quotes. It typically suggests that the document contains a good level of original content.

• Yellow (25-49%): Medium level of matching text. This means a significant portion of the document matches other sources. It could indicate the need for more original writing or better paraphrasing, depending on the nature of the matches.

• Orange (50-74%): High level of matching text. This suggests a large amount of the content is not original, and the writer may need to review and revise their work to reduce reliance on external sources.

• Red (75-100%): Very high level of matching text. Most of the document appears to be copied or not properly cited. This usually raises a red flag for plagiarism and requires immediate attention to avoid academic misconduct.

• Low percentage (e.g., 0-10%): Typically indicates that the work is mostly original, with few or no matching sources.
• Moderate percentage (e.g., 11-25%): May suggest some matched content, which could be common phrases, quotations, or references. Proper citation of sources could still make this acceptable.
• High percentage (e.g., 26% or higher): Suggests a significant amount of similarity to existing work, which could indicate issues with originality or improper citation. It might need further review for potential plagiarism.

Edit mode is disabled for mapped boxes]

EndNote is a reference management tool that helps to organize all your references in one database, called EndNote library. It allows you to enter manually or download from the databases, Google Scholar, etc. your references to books, journal articles, theses & dissertations, websites and other information resources. This will assist you to insert citations and references from your EndNote library into your thesis/dissertation or your project and automatically build a bibliography according  to the selected reference style (e.g. APA, Harvard, etc.) in Microsoft Word.

For you to access EndNote use the UNIZULU elearning portal on the link below:

http://elearn.uzulu.ac.za/index.php/endnote

Find a video below on how to use EndNote in 6 minutes:

Mendeley is a free reference management software package, also known as bibliographic software, which enables you to:

• Create a personal database of references relevant to you, along with associated files, to easily manage your research;
• De-duplicate references retrieved from multiple sources;
• Insert references into a Word document and format them automatically in a citation style of your choice;
• Showcase your work and connect and collaborate with researchers world

Zotero collects, manages and allows you to cite references. In other words, Zotero will help you get organised, save time and collaborate your work..  You can also attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Below is a 15 minute video link on how to use Zotero:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mP5AzJHXfIA

• Generating topic ideas: When unsure of a research topic, reference sources can inspire new ideas or narrow your focus.
• Becoming informed: Reference materials provide an overview of unfamiliar subjects, helping you grasp key concepts quickly.
• Background research: They serve as a foundation for more in-depth study, offering reliable, summarized information on specific topics.

Examples of Electronic Reference Sources:

1. Dictionaries:

• Merriam-Webster Online: Offers definitions, word origins, and pronunciation guides.
• Oxford English Dictionary (OED): Comprehensive definitions and historical usage of words
• Encyclopedias:
• Encyclopedia Britannica Online: Provides authoritative summaries on various topics.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library: Offers subject-specific encyclopedias in history, science, and literature.​​​​​​​2. Bibliographies:
• WorldCat: A global catalog of library collections for finding books, articles, and bibliographic information.
• Zotero: Helps manage references, create bibliographies, and organize research materials.
• 3. Atlases:
• National Geographic Online Atlas: Offers interactive maps and geographic information.
• Google Earth: A virtual globe and map tool providing satellite imagery and geographic data.

Access via Library 

 Here’s how to access them:

• Step 1: Visit your library’s website 
• Step 2: Look for the Databases or eResources section.
• Step 3: Browse or search for the resource you need (e.g., Oxford English Dictionary, Britannica Online).
• Step 4: You may need to log in using your library credentials (e.g., student ID or library card number).

Examples:

• Britannica Online: Available through most academic libraries.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library: Often accessible through library A-Z databases.

2. Direct Access via Publisher Websites

Some reference sources are available directly from publisher websites

• Step 1: Go to the publisher’s website (e.g., Merriam-Webster Online or National Geographic Online Atlas).
• Step 2: Search for the desired resource or reference.
• Step 3: Some may offer limited free access, while others require a subscription or account.

Examples:

• Merriam-Webster Online: Free to access for word definitions and more.
• Oxford English Dictionary (OED): Available via subscription, but some libraries provide free access.

3. Using Free Online Resources

. These can be accessed directly from your browser:

• Google Scholar: For scholarly articles and citations.
• Thesaurus.com: A free thesaurus for finding synonyms and antonyms.
• Wikipedia: While user-generated, it often links to credible sources and references for background information.

4. Access via Research Databases

If you’re accessing specialized databases, you might need access through a university or institutional subscription. Here’s how:

• Step 1: Visit your institution’s library website.
• Step 2: Go to the Databases section and choose a database like JSTOR, ProQuest, or SAGE Research Methods.
• Step 3: Log in with your institution’s credentials (student/staff login).

Examples:

• SAGE Research Methods: Comprehensive guides on research processes.
• JSTOR: For accessing journal articles and books.

5. Using Citation Management Tools

For managing your references and creating bibliographies, you can access tools like EndNote, Zotero, or Mendeley:

• EndNote: 
• Zotero: A free tool that can be downloaded from the Zotero website.
• Mendeley: Available for free download from Mendeley’s website.

6. Mobile Access via Apps

Many electronic reference materials are also accessible via mobile apps:

• Step 1: Download the app (e.g., Britannica, Oxford Dictionary).
• Step 2: Sign in using your library credentials or create a new account.

The main objective of the user orientation is to introduce the library facilities, resources, services and library techniques to the users. It is also designed to teach library users how to locate the information they need quickly and effectively.

Library Orientation is offered to new staff and students, at the beginning of each year and throughout the year on request

Library Orientation Takes only one hour per session

It is compulsory for every new students!!!

Faculty of Arts Librarian is responsible for the various workshop. She is the one who provides trainings for all the undergraduate students who are under the Faculty of Arts

Training on request ask 

 Faculty of Arts Librarian : Ms Faith Nsele

E-mail                              : NseleF@unizulu.ac.za

Tel:                                  : 0359026688

UNIZULU Library Workshops include the following topics:

 - Know your library: an overview of Library Services/resources and facilities

 - Stay Away From Plagiarism : what you need to know to avoid it.

 - Turnitin : Plagiarism checker and grammar mistakes software.

 - E-Books

 - E-Resources,  tips for searching and more: UNIZULU e-catalogue, (EBSCO Discover Service, JSTOR, HeinOnline etc)

 - Referencing made easy : EndNote

 - Press-Reader

The libguides are subject specific introductions to Library resources and services, written and compiled by the  information librarians.To have access to all our guides go to:

Please find a link below for the Research Support Libguide, where you will get more information and resources on research support.

https://unizulu.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=930216

Recommended to PG students, supervisors and researchers:

1. Know your library: : an overview of Library facilities / resources /services  for PG students & researchers
2. Stay Away From Plagiarism! (advanced)
3. Turnitin: Originality reports
4. e-Resources (advanced searching technique and more)
5. Referencing made easy with Endnote
6. Open access Institutional Repositories (IR) and Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETDs)
7. SA databases (SA e-publications, Current & completed projects – NRF, ISAP, etc.)
8. Inter-Library Loans (ILL): saving time with Pre-request
9. Enhancing Postgraduate Environment (EPE)
10. Press-Reader (Learn how to have unlimited access to thousands of magazines and newspapers from around the world)

 Recommended to senior PG students, their supervisors and researchers:

11. Publishing your results:  Peer refereed and accredited journals;  Open access, Copyright and use of SHERPA/RoMEO

12. Researchers’ Social networking: ResearchGate, Academia.edu, Mendeley.

13.Visibility counts: Researcher ID (ORCID) and Research metrics (bibliometrics, citation metrics, Journal impact factor, Altmetrics)

izulu.ac.za

We offer Online Library Workshops. To book a workshop please contact your Research Support Librarians:

Ms Zanele Hadebe - HadebeZ@unizulu.ac.za 035 902 6729

Copyright controls how you use creative works made by other people. It gives exclusive rights to the original creator to receive payment in the form of royalties for all reproductions and use of the work. Copyright is a branch of Intellectual Property.

DALRO Dramatic, Artistic and Literary Rights Organization, is a multi-purpose copyright organization.

Did you know that you need a license to reproduce a piece of copyright-protected content? DALRO can help you or your business to obtain individual or blanket licenses for a range of content, including plays, musicals, visual arts, poems, newspaper articles, books and more. Click here to Get Permission

If you are a creator or publisher, DALRO is here to assist you in managing your asset (the copyright in your work) and ensuring it is available for licensing while you do what you do best… create! Theater, literature, visual arts or film – we can protect your work Click here to Get Royalties

Want to find out more? Get Informed about copyright and the rules.